it’s always like this

February 16, 2010

type R

Filed under: the love boat — notsojenny @ 8:45 am

i’m type A.  i’ve said this before but this really comes out most in me being a planner.  i plan every day.  i don’t like heading into a day not knowing what’s going to happen… unless i know someone else has planned it.  i just need to know there’s a plan.  and i have zero patience.  coupling these things, i believe, is unhealthy. 

last year it was decided that we’d be going on a family trip with M’s family to Japan and i’ve been super excited about it ever since.  i used to be thrilled because i was learning Japanese but in the past year i haven’t so much “learned” or “practiced” it as much as i have just hoped i’d pick it up by osmosis if i just keep it in my glove box.  but hey it doesn’t matter because my MIL is fluent (duh) and i don’t need to know any right?  i mean i still know umbrella and beer and shoes, that should be enough to get me by, right?

but, anyway, ever since last year i’ve been looking forward to this trip.  and every once in a while i ask my husband “so, do we know exactly when we’re going yet?” since we’re at the mercy of 2 other family schedules and even more so the school schedules of our nephews (which keep changing with every snow day).  cut to a year later where i can’t ask anymore.  it makes me want to tear my hair out.  because if it were up to me the moment we decided to do this i would have pulled out calendars, figured out what dates are options, and began searching for flights.  it would have been booked shortly thereafter.  but at this point all we know is that we’re “going this summer”.  umm, okay, that’s in a few months, right?  and no one has done anything about it yet and i’m seriously biting all the skin off from around my nails!

aagghh, and recently M said, “why don’t we start keeping an eye on flights?”  uhh, what?  you’re kidding, right?! 

because #1 we have no clue what dates we’re even looking at and #2 that would make me grind my teeth down to tic-tacs.  because when i “look at flights” i’m looking around to see what’s out there and then i make the decision based on that.  the idea of looking around for weeks or even MONTHS drives me mad.  it would go a little something like this:

Week 1
notsojenny: oh hey, look, flights are $20!
M: okay, let’s keep an eye on it

Week 2
nsj: oh hey, i looked and flights are down to $18.  wanna  book?
M: nah, let’s keep an eye on it

Week 3
nsj: look, flights are still $18, we should go ahead and book, right?
M: hmm, let’s keep an eye on it

Week 4
nsj: oh my gosh, they’re down to $15.  let’s book them.
M: we’ll see, let’s keep an eye on it

Week 5
nsj: son of a monkey goat, they’re now $25!!
M: oh that stinks.  (say it with me folks) let’s keep an eye on it

and that’s when we’d get divorced.  okay, not really but i might go bald or full on grey at that point.  i just don’t have the patience for that process.  i’ve obviously known that i’m type A and M is something close to type R since forever and it’s one of the things i love about him but when it comes to making team decisions it drives me batty.  we encounter this problem with home decor decisions and even buying a house as well.  don’t even get me started on him car shopping, i can no longer be a helpful part of the process because i don’t get it.  he lacks the ability to say “these are my choices and i pick this one”  he believes the options are limitless.  and god bless him for that.  if he weren’t the wonderfully indecisive man he is we wouldn’t work so well together.  i love this about him but i also accept that it means i have to hand off things that i’m not allowed to control or do my way.

so i have no clue when we’re going to Japan.  so you know what i do to distract myself from this frustrating fact?  that’s right, i shop for baby stuff : )

br

br

~ today i learned… having lunch with a glowing 9 months pregnant with her 2nd child friend who is wearing the cutest coziest maternity dress ever does NOT help the baby fever ~

4 Comments »

  1. I would also learn to say “where is the bathroom” before you go. But that’s just me.

    As for the not having a clue about the trip planning, OMG I’d be completely freaking out by now. I got a little tense reading about that actually. Thankfully Boo is a pretty good planner.

    Comment by stealthnerd — February 16, 2010 @ 12:23 pm

  2. I am so with you. I would SO rather just pay more NOW to know that it is booked and taken care of!!!

    Comment by LiLu — February 16, 2010 @ 2:02 pm

  3. I always book when I see deal and then a month later realize it would have been way cheaper if I just waited… ugh!

    Comment by walkingonsunshine18 — February 16, 2010 @ 8:43 pm

  4. oh my gosh, that would drive me insane, too! I can’t stand that – I am such a planner as well. L’s favorite phrase? “we’ll figure it out.” NO! I want to KNOW. NOW.

    Also, I think you’re well equipped with your Japanese words. Because everyone needs to know how to say: I wish I had an umbrella so I didn’t spill beer on my new shoes. :)

    Comment by Dance in the Rain — February 17, 2010 @ 10:57 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

