it’s always like this

February 3, 2010

workin on my fi’ness

Filed under: growing pains, perfect strangers, step by step — notsojenny @ 8:59 am

fit people scare me.

and yet, i joined a gym the other day. 

phew, at least it wasn’t as hard to say as it was to do.  because i haven’t belonged to a gym since, oh, maybe 10+ years ago?  it was always just a huge waste of money for me.  i don’t work out.  i just don’t.

i love aerobics and excercise classes.  but that’s about it.  i really love pilates and will preach it to anyone looking for guidance on whether or not to do it.  so it’s not that i’m against physical activity or being in good shape. heck, i used to love the annual state physical fitness tests in school… except for the mile run.  man, i hated the mile run.  i’d always start off sprinting, quickly fall into a rapid jog, and then i was pulling up the rear with my girlfriends, just chatting it up.  but the sit & reach was my specialty.  i LOVED that.  and sit-ups were a blast too.  i always scored really well there.

but once i was out of HS i kinda lost touch with being “fit”.  i’ve always been thin i’ve just never been in good/healthy shape.  i’m a noodle, remember.  but going to the gym has ALWAYS intimidated me.  i don’t know why.  i guess it’s some sort of insecurity issue.  i mean i’ve never looked “athletic” but i’ve always wanted to.  we all wish our bodies were more like another type and for me it’s the athletic build.  i’ve just always thought they look so good and healthy and it’s what i’ve aspired to.  jacked arms, firm butt, nice back… not a body builder look just a really healthy look that says “yah, i can lift that box for you” or “sure, i’d love to go for a run”.

and when i say i “aspired” to have that body i mean “wanted – and never really set forth any real steps towards”. 

but now i belong to a gym and i’m really excited to go to classes!  it’s a small gym, not a big chain, a local gym that had 4 people working out when i went in to register and that made me feel so much better.  because walking into a busy gym with hot chicks on the treadmill with their cute tight outfits, bopping pony tails, and minimal makeup is not what i was going for.  that makes me want to slink out unnoticed.  until i can be that girl of course.

as for now i’m just going for the classes but i’m hoping that some day i’ll work up the guts to use the machines or lift weights.  i’m just too self conscious about it right now.  i hate the looks people give me, the one that says what-the-f-is-that-anorexic-chick-doing-here-trying-to-lose-weight?!  but i’m not, i just want muscles like everyone else.  i want to be toned.

so i’ve got the class schedule on my fridge and i’m looking forward to my first class tonight – pilates.  i’m not sure what to expect but considering i used to spend $100+ a month for pilates in the studio i’m trying to start without any expectations for my $29 a month gym membership.

i’m looking forward to trying out new (to me) classes too…
zumba – i’ve heard great things about this even though i’ve got white girl rhythm
kangoo – i’d never heard of this before but you get to bounce around wearing these crazy shoes and i imagine you can barely walk the next day

so wish me luck, tonight is my first class and i’m hoping i might even come out of this entire things with maybe a new friend or two.  a girl can dream.

br

br

~ today i learned… between 1931 and 1943 the Oscars would have 8-12 Best Picture noms and then dropped down to only 5 after that.  To incorporate a larger range of titles they decided to nominate 10 for this year’s award ~

4 Comments »

  1. Sigh. I hate the gym. Hate hate HATE.

    I don’t even like classes. Too long. The most I can make myself do is get on a treadmill or elliptical for half an hour. At least there I can put on the Wendy Williams show and try and trick myself into believing I’m not working out at all.

    Comment by LiLu — February 3, 2010 @ 5:32 pm

  2. I hate working out too. Classes are the only hope for me. I can run for like a week, and then I burn out. I’ve always been thin but I am just waiting for the day when my metabolism slows down and I HAVE to work out. It will not be a pretty day.

    Comment by Jackie — February 4, 2010 @ 10:24 am

  3. I love my gym. It’s a small gym too. And I cannot stand the judgy looks some people can give you. It’s like “dudes, we’re all here for a reason, back off and stop staring!”

    Comment by littlespoon — February 4, 2010 @ 11:26 am

  4. Ugh, the gym. We aren’t friends, the gym and I. Oh sure, I spent an upsetting amount on a gym membership in NYC but I rarely went. Even now, my apartment has a free gym and I’ve only been twice in the 3 months I’ve lived here. But my mom, hubby and I are all challenging ourselves to lose weight/tone up before our respective cruises this spring so I’m finally working on getting toned. I even did yoga this morning…in my living room…via OnDemand.

    Comment by stealthnerd — February 4, 2010 @ 2:31 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

