it’s always like this

October 7, 2009

ironed out

Filed under: absolutely fabulous, perfect strangers, step by step — notsojenny @ 9:31 am

okay so now that wedding stuff is primarily over, with a few things left to wrap up here and there, i can get back to life.  because believe it or not for the past year life has actually been going on all around my wedding planning.  i realize there are alot of things i haven’t talked about or just skipped over. 

and not that you really need to see me mouth this close up, but i wanted to wrap up the invisalign talk.  last year i debated starting invisalign… it was a HUGE investment that i wasn’t sure i could really afford.  but having a feeling there might be a wedding in my future i found room in my budget and decided to make it happen.  so on September 3rd (i think) i began my invisalign treatment.  here’s what my teeth looked like before i started…

haul 011

the day i got my first trays they put these hard white squares on 6 of my teeth.  they called them “buttons” and i don’t really have any pictures of them but they helped moved some teeth more than others.  the amazing thing was after i finally figured out how to get the trays out (because there were a couple days i thought i’d never eat again, i just couldn’t get them out!) it was a rather enjoyable process.  yes, putting the new trays on every 2 wks hurt like hell for about 24-48 hrs.  they just made the teeth so sore that i usually stuck to eating only soft foods on those days… and popping tylenol just before going to bed.  yes, it was sometimes a pain to not be able to snack and to have to brush my teeth and the trays so damn often.  i didn’t necessarily enjoy dragging a bag of teeth cleaning stuff into some nicer restaurant bathrooms but whatever, i was paying a TON of money for this so i was going to do it right.  and the really cool part was that the changes happened so quickly, but it was so subtle it wasn’t obvious until all of the sudden one day i’d look in the mirror and be all “hey, those ones are lined up now!”

so let’s recap, 11 months later (i originally had an 8 month plan but i needed a tweak at the end… which was all my fault because i got lazy with keeping the trays on for 21 hours a day) i had a whitening process and was finished with my last tray the day before my wedding… here’s my result:

wedding 055crop

i’m EXTREMELY happy with it. 

i’ll be completely honest, one of my teeth has slightly fallen back since that photo because i didn’t keep my trays on  much once the wedding rolled around.  i had them off most of that weekend and the honeymoon.  i’ve been wearing them since but just got my retainer the other day.  i’m supposed to keep this on 21hrs a day (just like the trays) for the next 3-6 months and then wear them every night for at least 2 years.  apparently teeth have incredible muscle memory and if you don’t keep them set in this position for that long they’ll start to slide back into their old spots (like i’ve already seen start happening).  so yah, it’s a little bit longer than the actual treatment time but it’s totally worth it.  i put so much into this that i’m not gonna just let it all go back.  i wish i didn’t still have to do the all day thing but whatever.  it’s worth it.

so those are my results.

 

  

~ today i learned… every episode of Desperate Housewives is titled after Sondheim lyrics ~

3 Comments »

  1. I bet you’re really happy that you decided to make the investment. It does sound like the retainers and all are a bit of a pain, but I guess it’s not too much different than have regular braces as a kid. I never wore my retainer after I got mine off and can see a little bit of a difference.

    I have said for years and years that before I get married I am having my teeth whitened. THey are so yellow, and I’m sure all the sweet tea I drink doesn’t help and will have to be limited afterwards. I need to have some other things done prior to whitening them, so it won’t be cheap, but same as you, I know it will be worth it. And I’ve already mentioned to L that this is going in the budget! :) congrats

    Comment by DanceintheRain — October 7, 2009 @ 9:38 am

  2. wow, what a difference!

    Comment by Jackie — October 7, 2009 @ 5:52 pm

  3. Wow! Your teeth look great. And is it just me or did the extra brushing lead to some whitening action too? That’s really awesome :)

    Comment by littlespoon — October 8, 2009 @ 9:05 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

