it’s always like this

July 28, 2009

teevee

Filed under: maybe it's me, perfect strangers — notsojenny @ 9:05 am

i’ve said it before but i’m a big fan of the television.  i grew up watching morning cartoons every single day before school and coming straight home to watch afternoon cartoons too, it was a cartoon sandwich every day!  i watched The Flinstones, The Jetsons, The Chipmunks, Smurfs, Snorks, Gummi Bears, Hanna-Barbara, and Heathcliff.  i looked forward to watching China Beach with my mom each week (i think it was on mondays?) and i usually fell asleep to M.A.S.H. on my bedroom tv.  yes, we had tv’s in our bedrooms.  we pretty much had a tv everywhere but the bathroom.  we were are an addicted family.  if i haven’t said it before, and you haven’t noticed, all of my category labels are names of tv shows.

so even to this day many of my memories are triggerd by some correlation to tv shows, tv programming, theme songs, storylines, etc.   heck, some of my knowledge of history is based on Quantum Leap episodes.

whenever Shake It Up comes on i break into funny dance moves as all i can see in my head is the Chippettes!  anyone else?
chipettes-alvin-chipmunks

when we go to the lake we go right through Appomattox State Park.  this is a very historic place yet all i can think of is Mike Seaver and his “friend” Appomattox Court House.  anyone else?
growing2

every time we get so busy and there seems to be more to do than we have hours to do it i wish i were Evie and could just push my index fingers together and stop time.  anyone else?
outofthisworld

not to mention that whenever i hear the glorious handsome devil  Bing Crosby sing, the converted theme song for this show it’s all i can think about.  anyone else?

my crazy connections and obsessions with tv don’t end with these little snippets.  M mocks me because i’m always adding entire tv show series to my amazon wish list.  and no, i never watch them.  but honestly, i’m stockpiling.  when we have kids i’m not sure i want them to watch the crap that’s on today.  most cartoons look harmless until you look at them with a mom’s eyes.  it’s either the language (even spongebob says “you’re stupid!” all the time), the way the characters speak (i’m sorry but Caillou is the MOST annoying cartoon ever!  talk about WHINING!)  or it’s just the overall influence (girls wearing skanky stuff and acting like lil’ hoes). 

i’m sure there are a few good things out there for kids to watch but they will be watching mostly DVDs at our house.  from the time they’re kids, watching The Jetsons, to the time they’re teens, watching Gilmore Girls, they will know how to work the DVD player.  and heck, hopefully once they’re older they’ll really appreciate the humor in phenomenal shows like NewsRadio.  they don’t have to watch and appreciate all the black & white classic stuff i like, but i feel like this is the safer route.  and if they end up loving Mary Tyler Moore too, well that’ll be GREAT!

  

  

~ today i learned… a 2 x 4 is really 1-1/2″ x 3-1/2″ ~

3 Comments »

  1. I am a huge fan of just about every single one of those shows you mentioned! L and I were talking about TGIF recently. Why don’t they have anything cool like that anymore? Sometimes I’m home on Friday nights and it would be nice to have some entertaining shows! I also love that a few months ago I was home early from work and realized that the Gilmore Girls is on at 5pm. I immediately added it to the DVR and now that they’re starting with season 1 again – oh my God. So happy.

    The Jetsons and the Flinstones are definitely two of my faves. The Jetsons Meet The Flinstones? Oh my God, to this day the name of that movie drives my mom crazy because I would watch it over and over again.

    Also. MTM? Best show ever. When we finally started getting Nick at Night in middle school – that’s all I watched. Speaking of Nick at Night, why do they show the George Lopez show? Wasn’t that on the regular schedule not that long ago?

    Comment by DanceintheRain — July 28, 2009 @ 12:14 pm

  2. Omg, loved this post! I always think of things in terms of how they relate to TV. I can apply a Friends quote to nearly any life situation. And as for the old school stuff, I was just saying to my dad that I could really go for some old school Looney Tunes. And let’s just say I wouldn’t complain if the complete Garfield and Friends found its way under my Christmas tree this year haha!

    Comment by stealthnerd — July 28, 2009 @ 12:55 pm

  3. you know, I actually think it’s a brilliant idea to stockpile TV DVDs now for future generations. You never know when that stuff will just be impossible to find … and it’s so good! And wholesome! There are probably still some family-friendly shows on now, but they just don’t make ’em like they used to. Good thinking, I say!

    Comment by magda — July 29, 2009 @ 8:43 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

