it’s always like this

June 5, 2009

coming up

Filed under: a wedding story, perfect strangers — notsojenny @ 10:29 am

yesterday was one of those days at work that makes you wonder “why the heck do i still work here?!  how much more of this can i really put up with?!”

i got there early and left before 6pm (which is actually really early for me)

i may have missed a phone call from a prospective DOC last night.  the other DOC i thought i had lined up just backed out the other day.

we went through alot of thinking and discussing and budget fudging the past few weeks and we FINALLY made a decision on a photographer.  only to have him negotiate with us and be excited about us booking, to one email later saying he can’t do it because the group he has the following day wants him to attend their rehearsal rather than his assistant.  um, i won’t get into my many thoughts on this but in short i’m pissed and totally bummed.  back to square one with this i guess.

we did book another tasting for cupcakes with a brand new place for today.  i always look forward to these!

last night we finished up our thank you notes from the engagement party.

we also completely lined all of our envelopes for the invitations.  i realized after that we probably should have printed them first but oh well, it’s done.

i also completed my hostess gifts for my lovely MOHs to present them at the shower this weekend.  i played with my Xyron and it’s definitely fun! (for those not obsessed with wedding DIY blogs, it basically makes ANYTHING into a sticker… so yah, it’s kinda double sided tape but way more fun : )

didn’t pack or do push ups last night… totally slacked on both of those.  oops.  bad notsojenny.

woke up at 2:36am to crazy noise just out the window… the whole bedroom was glowing orange.  opened the blinds to see fire trucks all over the place.  opened the front door to see just SMOKE and firemen and more trucks.  our neighbor’s house was on fire.  the air was thick with the smell of new siding melting.  at one point there were 9 emergency vehicles and over 30 emergency people out there.  it was a nutty thing to wake up to in the middle of the night.  for the record, everyone next door was okay, just some smoke inhalation.  even the lil’ dachsund got to use the pet oxygen mask and he was cool.

trying to get motivated enough to pack this morning while trying to manage work, lunch with a friend, and a cupcake tasting later.  all before we stop at Dunkin on the way out of town for our free donuts!

looking forward to a gorgeous weekend in MD, going to Ocean City (which always means THE BEST caramel corn & fries in the world), and our families meeting for the first time!! 

  

  

~ today i learned… chewing gum while peeling onions will keep you from crying (i will test this one day) ~

5 Comments »

  1. Hmm, I’m not sure a day goes by when I DON’T say” why the heck to I still work here? how much more of this can I really put up with?” Especially recently. Maybe it’s because we can’t have paper towels in the kitchen anymore (apparently they’re too expensive), but we can get new landscaping, have the windows professionally cleaned and hire a new account manager we don’t need. I feel you on your frustrations. Trust me.

    The photog totally sucks. That is really sh*tty for him to do that to you guys.

    I really want a Xyron. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it, but I hear that it’s not hard to come up with uses once you have it. Yesterday I was actually looking at paper cutters and other stationary tools. I thought, I should buy one here and there now (there cheaper stuff I’ll know I would use beyond just wedding stuff) and that way it wouldn’t have to be considered a “wedding expense.” haha

    That’s very scary about your neighbors house. I hope there wasn’t any damage to your home. And I think it is really great that most trucks are equipped with the pet masks (although L says if they don’t have a pet mask, they will use a children’s mask). I continually ask him if all the guys at the FD in town know we have the two puppies and where their crates are and that I want them saved before anything else. I’m glad the doggy was ok (and the people, too.).

    I hope that you guys have a fabulous weekend – the big day will be here before you know it! :) And have fun cupcake tasting. Maybe I can pretend I’m getting married and just on random cake and cupcake tastings. I wonder if they would catch on. :)

    Comment by DanceintheRain — June 5, 2009 @ 12:17 pm

  2. Aw hang it there at work. I’m still crossing my fingers that you find a fabulous new job very, very soon. You work with a lot of losers. Obviously.

    I think a xyron would get me into massive trouble. I’m already ridiculously easily amused as it is …

    Have an AMAZING weekend! Looks like the weather should clear up; hope it’s fantastic when you’re there. Good luck with the meet-up, and have some caramel corn for me : )

    Comment by magda — June 5, 2009 @ 12:21 pm

  3. I know it’s annoying, but at least you still have a job while you look for a new one… especially at such a crazy point in your life! (And by crazy, I mean exciting, of course) :-)

    Comment by LiLu — June 7, 2009 @ 8:28 am

  4. Oh man, a fire in the middle of the night is one of my biggest fears! Glad everyone is okay! Including the pup :)

    Comment by Jackie — June 7, 2009 @ 4:01 pm

  5. Aww I didn’t even know they made oxygen machines for pets that are exposed to smoke. Poor puppy! Glad he’s okay.

    Comment by Maxie — June 7, 2009 @ 9:44 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

