it’s always like this

April 29, 2009

one of THOSE mutha-f-in days

Filed under: gimme a break, maybe it's me, perfect strangers, step by step — notsojenny @ 9:07 am
  • apparently sunscreen expires before the expiration date… it’s only good for about 6-9 months.  nice.  i wish i’d known this before sitting outside for a practice football game in the blazing sun on a 90 degree day
  • speaking of hot temperatures… since when did girls, who are not working the street corner, start wearing short shorts with cowboy boots?  first, i’m pretty sure that cowboy boots made their way out of style a couple of years ago (unless you actually live in the country of course) but really?  it’s 90+ out and those are the best shoes you had to wear?  you’re a fool!  you’re sweating like an idiot.  and i know you’re only in high school but your parents are fools for allowing you out of the house like that, i can’t forgive these things
  • i have an interview scheduled for a second job.  i had completely forgotten about it since i figured they’d never call based on that test i had to take online where it proved what an idiot i’ve become.  while part of me is excited about the idea of a few extra dollars coming in, another part of me can’t imagine how i’m going to get all the wedding stuff done AND add in another job.  plus, will they be able to give me all the saturdays i need off for the parties and wedding that are already scheduled??  we’ll see, no loss if they can’t accomodate my schedule.  but i’m just kinda excited about an interview, even if it is for a retail location
  • thinking about actually taking this job makes me want to apply to TJ Maxx instead.  i can’t decide if that would be incredibly brilliant or incredibly stupid.  we’ll see, if this one doesn’t work out i’ll revisit this thought… hmm, there’s a homegoods coming here some time in the future, maybe they’ll start hiring soon?
  • i feel kind of bad about looking at a 2nd job – M still doesn’t have ONE.  being the traditionalist i am, i feel as though i may be emasculating him by becoming the only employed one in the house, now with 2 jobs for myself.  but i also feel kinda irritated that i’m willing to find an additional job that is purely supplemental and he hasn’t yet opted to take a crap job until he can get the job he deserves lined up.  i’m a little conflicted with it
  • i find the wedding industry to be slightly appauling.  i mean, really?  you can sit there and tell me my wedding bouquet will be $150 without even deciding how many of each flower stem you’re going to put in there?  that’s total bullshit.  i know what flowers cost and i’m cool with paying a markup, and i will pay for the labor of a professional but seriously?  you believe that putting $40 worth of stems in a cluster should earn you $110?!  you’re INSANE. 
  • i had a pang of jealousy recently when i read about all the awesome DC bloggers heading to NYC.  i can’t afford to go right now because i’m paying for this wedding, but i knew instantly that if i was single i would totally go, i’d be all over it.  don’t get me wrong, i love my position in life, i would never change my current status for anything, but it does get a little bummy at times when you realize how different your choices make your life
  • with the heatwave this past weekend i’m actually considering something i never thought i would… buying a pair of shorts!  i haven’t had a pair of shorts since, oh, i dunno, middle school.  i bought a pair of long shorts last year and while i’ve worn them plenty i’m just not crazy about them.  and when it came down to going to a football game in 90+ degree weather i wore a sundress.  just a plain casual cotton/beachy one, but still.  and since we now have season passes to a local amusement park i feel like i need something i can wear with sneaks in the heat.  because i just can’t choose fashion over function for things like football games and amusement parks.  i’ve got to figure out what i can wear that won’t make me look like an idiot and all i can come up with is shorts??  i’ve tried skirts and dresses and they’re fine for hot days, i love them, but not with sneakers.  and for a day walking around in the heat, i need sneaks.  any suggestions on a non-shorts option?
  • i’ve been waiting for the day when i can laugh and say i’m “Sadie Sadie Married Lady”… and then a friend went and named her dog that.  what the crap.  i’m already not looking forward to her comment of “why are you saying you’re my dog?!”  i can hear it already because i have a feeling she doesn’t know classic musicals and she just won’t get it

  

 

~ today i learned…the name of “Wizard of Oz” was thought up when the creator, Frank Baum, looked at his filing cabinet and saw A-N, and O-Z, hence “Oz” ~

4 Comments »

  1. I’ve been contemplating a second job too. I’m not keen on the idea, but I feel like it would make things a little better.

    Umm, based on what you’ve expressed in your posts, I think that a job at TJ Maxx (or home goods) might be a bad idea for you. :) Because as you were working you’d be picking out things to buy and then you’re entire TJ Maxx paycheck would just go directly back to the store instead of something else. That’s what would happen to me. On the other hand… then you COULD buy all the stuff you wanted there and not really feel bad. :)

    One of my friends who is about the same size as me never wore shorts and I didn’t understand how that was possible. THen about 4 years ago I stopped wearing them too bc I didn’t like the way they made my legs look. Similar to you, I stuck to skirts, sundresses and capris. But then last year I saw a pair in Target and decided to try them on. And I liked them, so I bought them. I then bought another pair in gap. I liked they way they looked in the mirror, but then i saw a pic of me wearing them and wasn’t as pleased. I’m trying to just get over it bc they dont look bad, I just dont look like the super skinny models.

    My suggestion… try a few pairs on in different stores. Maybe you’ll find a pair or two you like. If not… find really thin capris so you’re not so hot. :)

    Comment by DanceintheRain — April 29, 2009 @ 9:22 am

  2. We’re going to miss you in NYC this weekend!!!! :(

    Comment by stealthnerd — April 29, 2009 @ 11:29 am

  3. cowboys boots ARE ridiculous and so are the girls who wear them with short skirts. I can’t remember the last time I wore shorts either! I do capris or dresses/skirts.

    what dc bloggers are going to nyc? I must not be one of the cool kids :(

    Comment by Lexi — April 29, 2009 @ 11:35 am

  4. I find the wedding industry to be incredibly appalling. Not just slightly, not just a little bit–no, more to the tune of felony extortion. I mean seriously.

    As far as friends and trips and marriage, etc., just remember that the grass is always, always greener. You have things those girls feel pangs about, too. Best bet is just to focus on the now, with you and M, being glad you have him and enough sense not to wear cowboy boots in what’s essential the blazes of summer : )

    Good luck with the job interview, too! Interested to hear how that pans out …

    Comment by magda — April 30, 2009 @ 7:07 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

