it’s always like this

April 3, 2009

baby type

Filed under: out of this world — notsojenny @ 9:50 am

every time  i go home i intend on looking at my baby book and recording my blood type.  i know all of my personal information that could be important, i have my credit card & drivers license numbers memorized, i know my social, and i have a copy of my birth certificate ready should someone need it.  but the one piece of information that i never have kept in my head is my blood type, but it’s always something i am meaning to find out. 

so as she was dropping me off i remembered that i wanted to look it up but forgot again so my mom said she was pretty sure i’m A+.  this started a conversation.  i was telling her that M and i always mean to find this information out but we always seem to forget.  so she asked me if it was because we were talking about having kids, i was confused as to why those two would go together.

apparently if you have people with different Rh types (the + and – factors) then you can only have one naturally healthy kid.  WHAT?!  this sounded like crazyness, but i was intrigued, “tell me more”.  so she did, and i proceeded to google it as well.  it’s true.  for example, i’m + and if M were a – blood type we could have our first baby with no problems.  but if we went ahead and tried to have a second it would most likely miscarry or be born with serious brain damage, etc.  i hope you’re as dumbfounded right now as i was when i found this out because i’ve NEVER heard anything about this before.  even though it’s why my aunt lost her second child. 

the short medical explanation for this is that if we (M and i) had a baby that baby would have – blood in it (from M) and that type would be foreign to my body.  but while the baby is growing it wouldn’t be an issue since it wouldn’t get into my blood stream, it doesn’t become an issue until birth.  at birth the baby’s blood would get into my bloodstream which would then trigger my body to create antibodies to the – blood type, to fight it off and keep my body safe.  but the baby would be out so not a problem.  BUT, if we were to get pregnant again, when the baby started to form, my body would be fighting it since i would now have the antibodies to the – blood type.  (still with me?)  so the antibodies my body created to fight off the – blood type would eventually kill my baby or severly damage it, in an attempt to keep my own body safe.

so back when my aunt got pregnant with her second baby there was nothing they could do, but luckily science goes leaps and bounds every day.  now they have a shot regime.  once you have your first baby they give you shots right away so that your body doesn’t produce antibodies to the foreign blood type in your system.  so because of medicine we’re all good and now women can have as many mixed blood type babies as we want.

my point here is – i had NEVER heard of this before.  had any of you known about this??  why isn’t this information publicized?  why don’t we learn it in health class?  it seems like a pretty big deal to me.  i mean, yah, maybe when you go into your doctor telling them you’re trying to get pregnant they talk to you about this.  but i don’t know, do they?  does anyone ever tell you about this before you lose a baby to it?  i know that most people are + blood types anyway so it’s probably not the majority but it seems like + and – people having babies would be a fairly common occurence.

by all means, google the topic if you would like a better medical explanation but i’m just kinda freaking out now.  i’m waiting to find out what blood type M is… i don’t want to add this extra element of danger to our baby having issues (which will be age for both of us by the time we’re ready to pull the trigger). 

i’m still just in awe of this information and that it’s kept so secret.  it’s like the whole “pregnancy is really 10 months” thing, why the secrets?!

  

    

~ today i learned… a dragonfly has a lifespan of 24 hours. ~

5 Comments »

  1. Wow! I had NO idea about this. Very strange though. A couple weeks ago I actually needed to know my blood type for a form I had to fill out. I went and looked on my birth certificate and it wasn’t there. I was sure it would be and I was sure that it had been there years ago when I needed it for something else. But alas, I read it like 10x, line by line and it was not there. So I called my mom and she couldn’t find it on her little ‘this is my card with everyone in the family’s important info on it card’. Similarly, she said she was pretty sure I was A+. She’s negative and she knows I’m not and my dad’s not. I wonder if that’s why I’m the only child. For the reasons you talked about. My parents were already older when they had me, so it’s never really something I questioned. But maybe that’s the reason.

    How strange! I agree that you would think that this would be more widely known information!

    Comment by DanceintheRain — April 3, 2009 @ 10:17 am

  2. WHAT! I have never heard of this, but now I am scared to death! Thanks for sharing, I am about to find out our bloodtypes ASAP.

    Comment by Jackie — April 3, 2009 @ 10:46 am

  3. i’m glad that you are as shocked as i am, i thought maybe i’d been living under a rock

    Comment by notsojenny — April 3, 2009 @ 10:51 am

  4. That is so crazy! I had no idea about that at all. Learn something new everyday.

    Comment by Ms. Argument — April 3, 2009 @ 10:52 am

  5. this is freaky! I’m a negative, and now I think on my list of potential husband is “must have negative blood.” Hmmm. I wonder if this is why in some states you have to disclose blood types to get a marriage license?

    Comment by magda — April 6, 2009 @ 10:24 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

