it’s always like this

March 19, 2009

closed pants policy

Filed under: gimme a break, just shoot me, maybe it's me — notsojenny @ 10:42 am

thursdays are my early day.  i have to be at the office bright and early for a weekly meeting.  i understand that most people wouldn’t call 9am bright and early but i live just under 2hrs away… so it’s freakin early.  add in the fact that M and i have been getting to bed around midnight for the last 2 months and you may see why it seems so ridiculous to me.  first off, i told M last night that we have to make a concerted effort to be ready for bed by at least 11pm from now on.  i mean if we’re going to be staying up until midnight every single night we’re going to have to start drinking to justify it or at least take up some other irresponsible trait.

anyway on thursdays my alarm goes off at 6am.  once i’ve hit snooze 3 times i don’t have time for a shower so i usually just throw clean clothes on my dirty body and head out.  this morning i hit snooze 3 times then turned my alarm off.  i woke up about 40 minutes later.  i had 5 minutes to get ready and leave the house.  sure enough 20 minutes later i was in the car.  i had almost fallen back asleep when i closed my eye to apply eyeshadow… i can’t remember the last time i was that tired.  anyway i knew i had to make up some serious time.  as soon as i got on the highway i floored it.  i set my cruise control t o10 mph faster than i normally make the trip. 

i was blown away with how much of a difference it made.  i guess if you do the math with how many miles and the speed it makes sense but i’m not into thinking so i was shocked when i got into the office with enough time to go to my desk, put my lunch in the fridge, and still get down to the meeting early enough to acquire a chair.  so in short: speeding is awesome and gets you anywhere fast.

the only downside?  when i went into the restroom a few minutes ago i caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror, i have no idea why i did my makeup to make me look like a baby doll (pink circles on my cheeks, etc.).  i also have no clue why i decided to dress like a soccer mom gone homeless.  of course that probably doesn’t even matter to anyone since my jeans have been unbuttoned AND unzipped all morning.  i can’t sit down anymore without having to unbutton my pants, more or less drive for that long, but usually i’m with-it enough to remember to dress myself before getting out of the car… not today folks.  today there was a show for all.  i’m waiting to hear if it was well received.

  

 

~ today i learned…  ABBA got their name by adding together the first letter of each of their first names (Agnetha, Bjorn, Benny, Anni-frid.)

2 Comments »

  1. this sounds like me for the last week. It’s terrible. L is a night owl and we end up staying up until 1130 or 12 too, and when I have to get up the next morning, it is not a happy occasion. Maybe you’ll be able to catch up on some sleep this weekend and try to go to bed earlier starting next week.

    And about ABBA, I feel like that’s how N Sync got there name too – something to do with the letters in their first or lastname. Sadly, I was that big of a fan in my teeny bopper days to know that. ha.

    Comment by DanceintheRain — March 19, 2009 @ 10:57 am

  2. oooooh I have so had days like this! I know that feeling of looking in the mirror and thinking “WTF, self” all too well.

    I think your conclusions about speeding are brilliant, as well.

    Get some sleep this weekend!

    Comment by magda — March 20, 2009 @ 2:03 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

