it’s always like this

March 11, 2009

greener grass

Filed under: gimme a break, perfect strangers — notsojenny @ 1:02 pm

that olde saying is oh so very true

i mean we all take things for granted, right?  everything else always seems better.  and right now, for me, it’s pills. (if you don’t care to read about my body & birth control skip this one)

i’ve tried so many types of birth control pills.  i’m sure i’ve recapped it before but i was on one for many many years until my body decided it was going to do what it wanted no matter what the pills were saying.  since then i’ve pretty much been on a new type of pill each year, just testing them out.  with so many options out there i figure there has to be one that’s perfect for me, right?  for those of you who don’t know, whenever you start a new pill you have to give it at least 3 months to really let your body adapt.  until then you really have no idea how your body will act on those pills.

anyway, the last pill i was on finally drove me insane.  i was “spotting” , which was a nice way of saying i had a light period for 2-3 weeks of every month.  not enjoyable.  plus then there was the awful sun’stacheit caused and the self-consciousness that came with it.  oh yah, and there was the weight.  the 20lbs i put on in one year.  so last time i went to my lady dr. i receive a new pill, the chewable mint-flavored onefor little kids.  it’s been 6 months now and i’m wishing i could just go off it and get pregnant.

i do not say this because i’m ready to have a baby, i’m most definitely not.  and M is even further away.  but the side-effects from this pill have been ridiculous!

since i found out recently that one of my friends who’s older than me has NEVER been on the pill, i’m going to lay down the basics, just in case there are others out there.  without getting into the technical medical crap the pill simulates pregnancy.  it makes your body think you’re pregnant so that it does not allow you to get pregnant.  with that being said some pills are more obvious about this than others.

almost all other pills i’ve taken: caused nausea in the first couple months while my body got used to it, it was usually just a mildly irritating feeling for a day or two
this pill:i get so nauseous during the first week of EVERY new pack that i almost call into work and feel as though i may actually throw up

almost all other pills i’ve taken: does all the pregnancy simulation internally so i have no clue what’s going on
this pill:simulates pregnancy in many ways, the worst of which (after the nausea) is the gaseousness, i can drive myself out of a room… i can only imagine how bad it is during real pregnancy

almost all other pills i’ve taken: have made me hungry, they increased my appetite during the first 2 weeks and then it was normal the last 2
this pill:makes me feel as though i’m STARVING for an entire week, i can never eat enough, to the point where it keeps me up at night!   and then i spend a week somewhere in there with absolutely ZERO appetite and then another week of having eyes way bigger than my stomach where i have an appetite but once i start eating i’m full after a couple of bites

the last pills i took: put weight on me like it was going out of style… to the point where i donated 97% of my wardrobe and had to buy all new stuff 
this pill: made me drop that weight quickly so now i have a wardrobe mostly of clothes that are too big… nice

the last pills i took: gave me a serious sun mustache
this pill:i’m not sure about… we’re just starting to see real sun so i’m hoping it’s different as that would make up for these other issues but we won’t know until i start to get my tan on

so that’s my bitch session about this pill & the twisted relationship it has with my body.  don’t get me wrong, i’m pumped about only having my period for 1 week a month and all but these side effects do suck.  i guess there is no pill that works well for me.

my body should probably have a note in medical charts *does not work well with others*

  

  

~ today i learned… certain frogs can be frozen solid then thawed, and continue living ~

5 Comments »

  1. What a drag. I’m so sorry this has worked out so ridiculously!

    I’ve never had extreme reactions from a pill, except for the very first one I was on … it made me seriously, seriously depressed. It got to the point where I was contemplating things like putting my head in the oven. Yeah, that had to end. I totally hear you on jumping around with pills, though; I never stuck with one more than a year.

    Good luck!

    Comment by magda — March 11, 2009 @ 3:14 pm

  2. Ugh! Tell me about it! I decided to try the Seasonal and let me tell you my body was having none of that. Now I’m back to a regular pill and my body cannot thank me enough :)

    Comment by littlespoon — March 11, 2009 @ 4:43 pm

  3. Ick, I tried Seasonale for my first pill–worst mistake ever! It was so traumatizing that I didn’t even try a new pill for another year. Now I’m on one that, so far, I like. Fingers crossed that I keep liking it. Ugh, it is SO hard being a girl sometimes!

    Comment by stealthnerd — March 12, 2009 @ 9:48 am

  4. That’s totally crappy. Why can’t our bodies just always cooperate. I’ve been somewhat lucky, I suppose. I’ve only been on two and they’ve both been good. I’m on Loestra (sp?) now, I think. I don’t know, I take the generic so I don’t remember the actual pill. Not bad. My period is only like 3-4 days, rather than 7-8 with the last one I was on. I only took it for about 6 months before I had to get my Rx refilled (bc I had come off of my first one mid-year). When I got the refill, I had a totally different experience. Much lighter and spotting for a couple of weeks like you mentioned. That seems to have gone away now – the spotting. I don’t know. It’s all so confusing.

    Have you tried the neuva ring? A couple of my friends swear by it, but it kinda freaks me out.

    Comment by DanceintheRain — March 12, 2009 @ 4:18 pm

  5. That sucks!

    But . . .Thank you for sharing. I’ve never been on birth control. It doesn’t sound like the great “happy” experience the TV comercials try to portray it as! Thanks for sharing!

    Hope you find something that won’t make you sick.

    Comment by The Pissed Off Bride — March 14, 2009 @ 11:50 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

