it’s always like this

February 12, 2009

ringpop

Filed under: a wedding story — notsojenny @ 1:52 pm

so we still haven’t purchased my engagement ring yet.  the task of it has become so daunting that i’m not really all that interested anymore.  it’s a very frustrating process.  i’m still wearing my stone, which is beautiful, and i’m becoming more accustomed to the temporary setting it’s in but i still want something else in the long run.

i guess for me the worst part is that the more time goes by the more options i see and i’m more likely to flip flop on what i “want”.  it all started with me finding an estate ring after trying on a bunch on blingy rings that i thought i liked a couple of years ago.  as soon as i saw the estate ring all my visions changed and i knew that was what i wanted.  of course it’s hard to replicate a ring when you don’t have it to point at and say “this is IT!” when you’re months down the road so that’s where the problem began.  but we’re getting closer.  we’re on on our way to finding the perfect ring but the problem i keep encountering is looking at other stuff.  each time i see a ring online or in another store i think “oh no, that’s what i really want, not the ones i have it narrowed down to”  then i’ll try it on and i don’t like it.  then i try on one of the ones i’ve already picked out and i love that (does all this sound familiar?  if not, read any of my dress posts).

whenever i look at pictures or stop by a display i tend to fall for the same rings, big center stone lots of blingy stones on the sides

tacori2502emp8x6_multihof-respect

i’ve even fallen for multiple stone rings, which i always hated the concept of in general but they’re so pretty in pictures and sitting in the cases!
hof-flirtationtacori-251012

but each time i put one on my skinny fingers  i’m just not happy about it.  i guess i don’t want anything to take away from the sparkly center stone too much and i need more structure to the ring.  i also started to get real picky at about this point.  when i started looking at rings i started noticing the details, every little element of the detail and while my eyes started crossing i also became my own little expert on what i liked and what i didn’t.  some filigree, not too much (if any) millgrain, pave is okay, no off-set prongs, setting can’t be too high above the band, etc. etc.  i started to really take a liking to those designers who really spent time on the little details of the ring.  at this point i discovered some things i decided were a must have for me… filigree and top/side/360° bling.  nothing too much, but i wanted sparkle from every angle.

crisscut-98crisscut-48pic_9crisscut471

 the rings above don’t cut it.  why?  the design stops at your side fingers.  i want the design to follow all the way around, otherwise what’s the point?  i’m picky like that.  i also started to discover other little quirks i did not like when the ring was on my hand… flat sides and SPACES!  i like the detail to be soft and feminine but not the heart shaped shit that they try to serve you when you say that.

tacori-edges1tacori-spacestacori-space2

it’s absolutely astounding how many different rings there are out there and that you can become this picky when you start to look at so many.  this would have been so much easier if M had just picked one but i digress.  i knew of a brand that was going to meet my standards so i went straight to them (coincidentally the same mfr. that made the estate ring i’d had my eye on)… only this didn’t make things easier.  they had a book of hundreds of styles, each ring barely different from the last.  such minute details and changes that were only recognizable after you’d stared at them for 2 hrs+.  after adding these rings into the mix i was more confused than ever but we were able to narrow it down to less than 5 rings and had them all shipped in once they were available…

crisscut-36tacoriwhb-7089whb-8258

i’m not going to tell you which one i’m picking at this point because i haven’t found one that’s PERFECT but i have found a couple that would be perfect if you could combine some of their elements.  and right now we’re in talks with the mfr. to do just that.  all of the rings i’m interested in also have matching bands which is a must given their shapes.

anyway, i’ll leave you with a few more i’ve discovered recently but am afraid to try on…

tacori2578verragio-0282

  

  

~ today i learned… Kelsey Grammar sings and plays the piano for the theme song of Fraser ~

5 Comments »

  1. These are gorgeous… I’ve known for a while I want a square cut, but not much beyond that!

    Comment by LiLu — February 12, 2009 @ 2:40 pm

  2. okay, so I was just reading through this at work … because really, what else is new … and one of my co-workers walked past my office and was all “oooooh, hoping for a ring this valentine’s day?” and I was all, “oooooh, NO.” ALAS.

    This is a tough choice! Each one of these has something really unique. So pretty.

    Comment by magda — February 12, 2009 @ 3:06 pm

  3. Wow! Those are all so pretty! Once I picked out basically what I wanted, I told BF to go from there. He’s seen what I like and he’s got good taste so I know he’s going to pick out something fabulous. Otherwise, I’d be doing this same thing and I think it would drive him just a little too insane.

    Comment by stealthnerd — February 12, 2009 @ 3:31 pm

  4. It’s funny, I’m not sure I would have pegged you for a ‘bling-blingy’ girl. I never thought I was like that either and now my hand is all “BA-DOW!” :)

    Comment by littlespoon — February 12, 2009 @ 5:12 pm

  5. Wow, those are some gorgeous choices! I can’t wait to see what you finally end up picking. I’m sure it will be worth all the work and waiting! :)

    Comment by DanceintheRain — February 24, 2009 @ 8:46 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

