it’s always like this

September 17, 2008

factimus maximus

Filed under: maybe it's me, perfect strangers — notsojenny @ 10:29 am

everyone has some random facts about themselves, and things they do.  sometimes it’s hard to tell anyone because you assume they’ll label you as crazy.  after reading through comments left on other blogs i’ve learned that some of the stuff i do, stuff that i think would get me labeled, is stuff alot of other people do too!  so as a community service i’m going to list out some of the things about me that i know at least one other person out there is afflicted with too so we all don’t feel quite so alone in our weirdness…

– i read my mail in the bathroom.  it’s the first thing i do when i walk in the door.  i’ll read an entire magazine or catalog just sitting in there.  i guess it’s just my way of decompressing after a long day.  i find it so relaxing to just spend time sitting in there… even when i don’t have to go.

– i talk to myself.  all the time.  out loud.  i have entire conversations with me.  i think know i got this one from my mom (along with many others).  i’ll talk about my day, bitch about something, i’ll have an entire conversation.  when i had dogs i used to talk to them.  i always assumed they were in agreeance with me though.  if i ever thought they disagreed and we had a conversation about it then it might be time to call it quits.

– i know this one will gross most people out but… i smell my socks.  not in a freaky disturbing way.  i just smell my socks when i take them off.  i don’t even know why.  i guess it’s just a measure of how active my day was or something.

– i despise the sound of whistling.  i’m not sure when i began to dislike it, but i do.  and whenever i hear someone do it, it makes my skin crawl.  i basically scream inside my head.

– i’m always paranoid that i didn’t flush.  i’ll go back and check multiple times.  of course it’s only gotten worse since that one time i checked only to see that i actually hadn’t.  it’s just so routine to get up, turn around, and flush that i forget whether i’ve done it or not.  when i’m out in public i stress about it for a long time once i get back to my seat.  i try to envision those last seconds and whether i remember doing it or not.

– my mother drives me insane.  so maybe this isn’t an unusual thing but the woman is crazy!  i love her more than anything in this world though, nothing will ever mean more to me than her, but after about an hour with her i need a break.  she’s too intense.  and god do i hate being so far away from her.

– i keep stock on pregnancy tests.  i’ve always taken them when a relationship was in trouble.  i don’t know if it’s because i’d get nervous that something terrible was going to happen or if it’s because i hoped that if i was it would save the relationship.  no matter what, i’m so not ready for kids and glad that something like that never changed a relationship from where it was headed.  i’m right where i’m supposed to be.

– i check my email waaay too often.  and i’m always hoping there’s going to be something amazing in there.  and i’m a little bummed every time there isn’t.

– i set my alarm clock ahead by a random amount of time.  i don’t calculate it because i don’t want to know exactly how much.  but i set my alarm to make up for that time.  if i want to get up at 7:30 and think my clock is about 30 minutes fast, i’ll set it for 8.  defeats the point, i know.  my car is set fast too… i have no clue how fast but i think it’s approaching an hour.

– i don’t like walking around in bare feet.  i take my shoes off the second i get home but have to have socks or slippers on immediately.  i go to sleep with my socks on, but get too hot and take them off in my sleep.  whenever i change the sheets i find miscellaneous socks strewn about.

– i laugh when i’m nervous.  job interviews, funerals, dates, whatever.  it’s like an awful tick, i hate it.

– i watch too much Law & Order on some days.  then i have a hard time leaving the house or staying in it.  i called my boyfriend up in tears once because i was convinced someone was in my place.  turns out i had just watched an all day marathon.

– i glance in the mirror too many times a day.  especially if i think i look good, i like to take it in on those days to make up for hte days when i can’t stand to look in the mirror.  i guess i’m vain, not completely convinced though but probably am.

– i’m so anal retentive about being prepared for anything.  i play out entire conversations in my head over and over.  i even write them out sometimes.  i have to prepare for every possible outcome.

– i don’t like people seeing my ears.  they stick out and i hate the way they look uncovered.  if i pull my hair back i use bobbypins to hold the sides over my ears, i wear a fleece headband that covers my ears when i go running so i can put my hair up in a full ponytail… even in the summer.  i’d rather go out of the house without makeup than with my ears showing.  (i do have to admit this has gotten better since i’ve been in the relationship i’m in… i don’t care as much about how i look to others)

– i get irritated when people say that they look like someone famous… especially when they look nothing like them.  it’s one thing for people to tell you that you look like someone, it’s another to insist you look like someone fabulous.

– i am obsessive about picking at my cuticles, fingernails & toenails.  i like to split the nails and then file them down.  i like to pick at my cuticles with a safety pin and then cut them off like i’m supposed to.  it’s not very ladylike and it’s probably one step away from being as gross as biting toenails but whatever.

i’m sure i’ve mentioned some of these before.  and i’m sure there are many more. 

  

  

~ today i learned… the sandwich is named after the 4th Earl of Sandwich to facilitate simultaneous eating and gambling (a man after my own heart!) ~

8 Comments »

  1. OMG, the bare feet and socks cracked me up…I do the same thing…right down to finding extraneous socks int he foot of the bed. And, I couldn’t agree with you more on whistling. My dad could (and would) whistle the freakin Star Spangled Banner (as well as many other tunes) and it drove me insane.

    Comment by ballerina toes — September 17, 2008 @ 10:44 am

  2. I’m right there with you on the Law & Order. The SVU marathons are my favorite. I feel like there should be something wrong with that, but I don’t care–I am ALL OVER those marathons!

    Comment by stealthnerd — September 17, 2008 @ 12:11 pm

  3. My coworker talks to himself all the time, and I never know when he’s talking to himself or when he’s actually talking to me. It’s so funny!

    Comment by 30dialogues — September 17, 2008 @ 12:33 pm

  4. I love it when bloggers share stuff like this! It makes you realize how much more real everyone is. I’m someone who does the pregnancy test thing too. I didn’t really even realize how much of a habit it turned into until a friend pointed out I was taking a test before I had even slept with the current guy. On the plus side though, I’m the person nervous friends call when they want a test and are nervous about getting it. Everyone wins!

    Also… I check my email WAY too often too. It’s almost ridiculous.

    Comment by brandy — September 17, 2008 @ 2:11 pm

  5. Reading lists like this always makes me feel a lot more normal. I love learning random stuff about other people! An excellent collection you have here.

    My boss always whistles as he comes down the hall. It’s like a little warning that he’s on his way, but it bugs the heck out of me. I think it just hits my ears the wrong way.

    Comment by magda — September 18, 2008 @ 11:38 am

  6. So when you get an email from me, you’re so excited you pee yourself, right?

    Comment by apollocreed — September 18, 2008 @ 11:49 am

  7. I laughed out loud at the Law and Order one. I have a feeling that I am now going to be paranoid about flushing the toilet. It never used to occur to me before that I would forget, but now I’ll probably think about it all the time.

    Comment by Megkathleen — September 18, 2008 @ 6:57 pm

  8. Sometimes I thought about trying to count how many times I check my email. But then I’m afraid of what that number might be. I think I log into my personal email at work or refresh the page like 97 million times a day. Same thing. I never really get anything worthwhile. I mean, I email back and forth with my mom. And a couple of friends every now and then. But still. But then. On weekends. I hardly ever check it. Maybe twice a day.

    Comment by DanceintheRain — September 19, 2008 @ 12:33 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

