it’s always like this

May 21, 2008

cup of ambition: $5.95

Filed under: gimme a break — notsojenny @ 11:11 am

i work hard for my money.  i always have.  in our house, once we turned 15 it was time to get a job.  of course, you didn’t have to.  but if you wanted to have more clothes, or go to the movies, or spend money on stuff you needed a paycheck because my parents were going to pay for food, (necessary) clothes, and whatever else was needed to live.  so my cheerleading camp or the required competition sneaks didn’t fall under that category.  my sister, being the over achiever she is, had a paper route long before necessary.  but then again, she’s always been more fiscally responsible.  i took the easy route and baby sat until i was old enough to have a legal job.  you have to remember that this was back when people let anyone babysit.  i started when i was 12.  i can’t imagine people today leaving their infant with a 12yr. old… i know i wouldn’t.  oh man, when i think of all the babysitting i did which pretty much ended up just being me putting the kids away and then ransacking the house for snack that we didn’t get at my house.  like fruit roll-ups or any fruit snack really.  oh and dunkaroos.  those were awesome!  

but anyway, once i turned 15 i got a federally taxed job.  then i got another one and from that point on i kept 2 jobs at all times.  the jobs themselves would change, but i’d always have 2.  what can i say?  i like stuff.  i like being able to buy more stuff.  it wasn’t until i started bartending that i had one job only.  i made enough money to not have to need another job.  it was great.  i still have not made/took home as much money in a week as i did when i was bartending.  when i began i worked at the only bar in town right next to a college.  it was like printing money.  and i got to get hammered while i worked, because drinking with the customers was encouraged.  and i started working there when i was 19 so it was really cool. 

my next step was moving here.  i decided i only wanted one job but after using up all the reserves i had stashed away i remembered how much i liked shopping and took on a second job.  after getting a much needed promotion and raise at my main job i was able to leave the 2nd job.  since then i’ve only had one job.  and it’s so nice.  my point in all this is that i’ve worked alot.  i’ve worked my ass off to be where i am today.  to have the things i have.  and it’s because of this that i’m a very career driven person.  i don’t need to be CEO of anything someday but i do like working my way to promotions and more opportunities and of course bigger paychecks.

so being where i am today is scary for me.  i’m in a job that’s just alright.  it’s got truck loads of possibility but i’m just not doing anything that matters.  there’s no upward mobility.  so i’m looking for something different.  i know what i want to do.  i know what i’m good at.  but i’m so afraid of getting myself into this situation again.  everyone knows that job descriptions are not true to scale.  so whenever i read one, i read into it.  and i look at the company.  is it so small that there may be alot of responsibility but not alot of opportunity?  is it so large that i’ll have a hard time moving upward?  but you never know about these things until you get into it.  i have a few sites that i check weekly that will tell me if any of the jobs i’m looking for are open.  right now there aren’t many that look good.  i’m putting my resumes out frequently enough now but i’m not hearing anything back.  i assume it’s mostly because they’re all in different states than i’m in.  but i’m trying to move back north.  or it may be because i’ve priced myself out of my qualifications.  i don’t know.  but i want to get out of what i’m doing right now.

  

  

~ today i learned… British terror threats are called BIKINI alerts, there are 5: White – Black – Black Special – Amber – Red

 

5 Comments »

  1. The North is where all the Cool People live. Just saying…

    Comment by apollocreed — May 21, 2008 @ 11:18 am

  2. I babysat for years, too. Where we grew up, you could get “certified” at the hospital–which was basically a CPR class–at 12. So I did.

    As soon as the parents left, my very first stop–very first–was always the pantry, the freezer, and the fridge. In that order. A nannycam would have though I was some kind of deprived starving person. I wasn’t, not at all; I just love snacks, and mom always had such boring, healthy stuff at home. I probably ate as much as they paid me which, way back when, was $2.75 an hour. By the time I was in college, my sister was raking in $10 / hour in my parents’ neighborhood–which, she informed me, was before tip. That’s double the federal minimum wage!

    And yeah, I’d never leave my children with a twelve year old. I don’t know what they were thinking.

    Comment by magda — May 21, 2008 @ 11:53 am

  3. I was a nanny for two summers during college. It was a great paying job and I really liked it. I thought about going back to nannying if I can’t find a job in Chicago.

    Also, will you send me the sites you check for jobs (if they are national sites). You’re the best! :)

    Comment by penelope — May 21, 2008 @ 1:27 pm

  4. Dude I started babysitting at 12 and I remember my first baby sitting job I got paid $12. I thought I was rich. Wow, times have changed :)

    Comment by littlespoon — May 21, 2008 @ 1:39 pm

  5. Maybe you should move to BOSTON. Tons of jobs there!

    :)

    Comment by La — May 21, 2008 @ 5:04 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

